## TENTH DISTRICT CAUCUS October 15, 2022

The 10<sup>th</sup> District caucus was called to order at 7:32 a.m. by caucus Chair, Dr. Sara Stuefen of Iowa. Dr. Stuefen declared a quorum present.

Along with Dr. Scott Morrison those present were delegates and alternates: Drs. Alejandro Aguirre, Thomas Alexander, John Arend, Chris Bogue, Amber Cziok, Kevin Dens, Otto Dohm, Kami Dornfeld, Jeff Feiock, Michael Flynn, Michael Frankman, Tim Holland, Mark Kampfe, Brian Kim, Jim Larsen, Carolyn Larsen, Stephen McDonnell, James Nickman, Liz Papineau, Rosalie Perpich, Aruna Rao, Clark Stanford, Sara Stuefen, Paul Tronsgard, Scott Wagnild, Debra West, Emily Willett, and Doug Williams. Executive Directors: Carmelo Cinqueonce, Paul Knecht, David O'Doherty, and William Sherwin. Assistant Executive Director: Ms. Kara Bylund

Guests present included Dr. Jessica Meeske, Nebraska, ADA Medicaid Task Force, Drs. Brad Barnes and Giorgio Di Vincenzo, and Ms. Sarah Milligan, American Dental Political Action Committee.

Absent was Executive Director Laurie Traetow.

Dr. Sara Stuefen announced that after consulting with the 10<sup>th</sup> District State Executive Directors, and Dr. Morrison, Kara Bylund was appointed to serve as the caucus secretary, due to the unexpected absence of Iowa Dental Association Executive Director, Laurie Traetow.

Motion by Dr. Tim Holland, second by Dr. Mark Kampfe, to approve the minutes of the October 15, 2021, caucus meeting. Motion carried.

Dr. Scott Morrison welcomed first-time delegates and encouraged the delegation to engage in respectful conversation and debate.

Dr. Deb West presented resolutions on Budget, Business, Membership, and Administrative Matters. Resolutions discussed included: 201, 202, 203, 204, 205/205S-1, 206, 207, 208, 209/209B, 210, 211, 212, 213, and 214. Dr. West requested further discussion of resolutions 205 and 206 if time allowed.

Dr. Kevin Dens presented resolutions on Dental Benefits, Practice, and Related Matters. Resolutions discussed included: 301, 302, 303, 304, and 305.

Dr. Rosalie Perpich presented resolutions on Dental Education, Science, and Related Matters. Resolutions discussed included: 401/401 S-1, 402, 403, 404, 405, 406, 407/407B, 408, 409, 410, and 411.

Drs. Brad Barnes and Giorgio Di Vincenzo spoke to the delegation on behalf of the American Dental Political Action Committee (ADPAC).

Dr. John Arend presented resolutions on Legislative, Health, Governance, and Related Matters. Resolutions discussed included: 501, 502/502S-1, 503, 505, 506, 507/507B/507BS-1, 508, 510, 511, 512, 513, 514, 515/515S-1, 516, 517, and 518. Dr. Stuefen provided draft questions for the ADA Second Vice President and President-Elect candidates who have been invited to speak to the district on Monday, October 17. Questions were finalized and assigned to Drs. Amber Cziok, Aruna Rao, and Deb West.

Ms. Kara Bylund briefly outlined the 10<sup>th</sup> District Functions during the ADA House of Delegates.

Dr. Sara Stuefen asked if there were any resolutions the delegation would like to discuss in greater detail. The delegation discussed resolutions 205, 206, 209b, and 518.

There being no further business it was moved by Dr. Kevin Dens and seconded by Dr. Chris Bogue that the caucus recess until Monday, October 17, 2022.

Respectfully Submitted, Kara Bylund Secretary to the Caucus