TENTH DISTRICT CAUCUS October 17, 2022

The 10th District caucus was called to order at 7:32 a.m. by caucus Chair, Dr. Sara Stuefen of Iowa. Dr. Stuefen declared a quorum present.

Along with Dr. Scott Morrison those present were delegates and alternates: Drs. Alejandro Aguirre, Thomas Alexander, John Arend, Chris Bogue, Amber Cziok, Kevin Dens, Otto Dohm, Kami Dornfeld, Jeff Feiock, Michael Flynn, Michael Frankman, Tim Holland, Mark Kampfe, Brian Kim, Jim Larsen, Carolyn Larsen, Stephen McDonnell, James Nickman, John Noack, Liz Papineau, Rosalie Perpich, Aruna Rao, Sara Stuefen, Paul Tronsgard, Scott Wagnild, Deb West, Emily Willett, and Doug Williams. Executive Directors: Carmelo Cinqueonce, Paul Knecht, David O'Doherty, and William Sherwin. Assistant Director: Kara Bylund

Guests present included Dr. Jessica Meeske, Nebraska, ADA Medicaid Task Force.

Absent were Dr. Clark Stanford and Executive Director Laurie Traetow.

Motion by Dr. Doug Williams, second by Dr. Deb West, to approve the minutes of the October 15, 2022, caucus meeting. Motion carried.

Dr. Scott Morrison briefly addressed the orders of the day.

Dr. Deb West presented resolutions on Budget, Business, Membership, and Administrative Matters. Resolutions discussed included: 201, 209, 211, 212, 213, and 214.

Dr. Kevin Dens presented resolutions on Dental Benefits, Practice, and Related Matters. Resolutions discussed included: 301, 302, 303, 304, and 305.

Dr. Rosalie Perpich presented resolutions on Dental Education, Science, and Related Matters. Resolutions discussed included: 409, 410, and 411.

At 9:00 a.m. the delegation heard from ADA Council on the Annual Meeting, Dwan McEvoy.

At 9:25 a.m. the delegation heard from ADA President-Elect Candidate, Dr. Linda Edgars.

At. 9:45 a.m. the delegation heard from ADA President-Elect Candidate, Dr. Paul R. Leary.

At 10:00 a.m. the delegation heard from ADA Second Vice President Candidate, Dr. David Manzanares

Dr. John Arend presented resolutions on Legislative, Health, Governance, and Related Matters. Resolutions discussed included: 507, 512, and 513.

The caucus had a brief discussion regarding resolutions 205 and 206 and revisited discussions on resolution 209.

At 11:30 a.m. the delegation heard from Dr. Paul Reddy with the American Institute of Parliamentarians.

The delegation discussed the need for a pre-caucus meeting in 2023 and determined it was not necessary to schedule it at this time; however, if the need arose a special meeting via Zoom could be called. Motion by Dr. Amber Cziok, second by Dr. Alejandro Aguirre, to host the next 10th District Caucus Meeting on Saturday, October 7, 2023, in Orlando, Florida.

Dr. Stuefen announced that Minnesota would host the caucus meeting next year. Dr. Rosalie Perpich will serve as the caucus chair. Dr. Liz Papineau nominated Dr. Deb West to serve as vice chair, she was elected by consent. Dr. Rosalie Perpich nominated Mr. Carmelo Cinqueonce to serve as secretary, he was elected by consent.

The delegation discussed the Mid-States Dental Leaders Conference and its relevance to the district members. Most of the delegation found more value in the ADA meetings and attending other state meetings within the district. If Strategic Forecasting was to pass, there is a similar group that the states in the west region could attend that may be more relevant to the district members. Each state will need to determine its own course of action regarding the meeting.

Dr. Scott Morrison outlined the voluntary appointments for the committees and councils and provided closing remarks.

There being no further business it was moved by Dr. Amber Cziok and seconded by Dr. James Larsen that the caucus recess until Saturday, October 7, 2023.

Respectfully Submitted, Kara Bylund Secretary to the Caucus