MDA Officers

Dr. David Andersen


Phone: 218-732-3291

Fax: 218-237-2532

Dr. Andersen graduated from the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry in 1992. Shortly after graduation he moved to Park Rapids to practice dentistry and in 1996 he opened his own private practice. He is an active member of his district dental society, having served as its past president, and he is a chairperson on the MDA Rural Dental Health Committee. He has been on the advisory board for Northwest Technical College Dental Assisting Program, where he also volunteers as an instructor. He was one of the Ten Outstanding Young Minnesotans in 2005, he received the distinguished service award from Park Rapids in 2004, he is currently a mentor with Kinship, he serves with Rotary and has been its past president, and is the current president of the Park Rapids Education and Activities Foundation (PREAF).

Steve McDonnell, D.D.S.

Dr. Stephen McDonnell

President Elect

Phone: 651-222-0351

Fax: 651-222-1556

Dr. Steve McDonnell earned a Doctor of Dental Surgery degree from the University of Minnesota. He has been very active in the dental community throughout his career, providing free dental care at the Union Gospel Mission dental clinic, serving as president and trustee of the St. Paul District, as well as holding several dental education leadership positions with the MDA and ADA. In 2009 and 2012, Dr. McDonnell received Outstanding Service Awards from the MDA and the St. Paul District Dental Society. He has also devoted much time and talent serving as a volunteer and leader in various community and church organizations.

Dr. James Nickman

First Vice President

Phone: 651-484-8611

Fax: 651-484-2218

Dr. James Nickman graduated from the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry in 1997 and obtained a Masters of Science degree in Pediatric Dentistry from the University of Minnesota in 1999. He is a pediatric dentist at Metropolitan Pediatric Dental Associates and an associate clinical professor at the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry. He currently serves as the chair of the Minnesota Dental Political Action Committee (MINDENPAC) and is a member of the MDA’s Barriers to Care and Legislative Affairs committees. He is the president of the American Academy of Pediatric Dentistry, a Diplomate of the American Board of Pediatric Dentistry, a member of the Pierre Fauchard Academy, a fellow in the American College of Dentists, and a fellow in the International College of Dentists. Dr. Nickman is very involved in giving back to the community, volunteering for the Minnesota Mission of Mercy and and Healthy Smiles Healthy Children Foundation Dental Home Day.

Dr. Amber Cziok

Second Vice President

Phone: 320-693-8131

Fax: 320-693-8999

Dr. Amber Cziok attended the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry, earning her Doctor of Dental Surgery degree 2006. She currently serves on the Minnesota Dental Foundation Board of Directors. She’s served on the MDA New Dentist Membership committee. She’s also served as a trustee for the West Central District Dental Society and as an ADA alternate delegate and delegate. In 2018 she received the President’s Award from Dr. David Resch and in 2014 she received the MDA New Dentist Award. Dr. Cziok takes an active role volunteering for Give Kids a Smile, Mission of Mercy, and Donated Dental Services.

Dr. Douglas Williams


Phone: 218-751-4216

Fax: 218-444-6057

Dr. Doug Williams attended the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry, graduating in 1983. He has owned his practice for over 30 years, where he is continually learning new methods and procedures to provide the Bemidji area with.

Dr. Kevin Dens, D.D.S.

Dr. Kevin Dens

Speaker of the House

Phone: 218-454-7000

Fax: 218-829-3347

Dr. Dens graduated from the University of Minnesota School of Dentistry in 1985. He completed a one year General Practice Residency doing both advanced dentistry and hospital dentistry. He is a past president and past trustee for the West Central District as well as a past trustee on the Board of Directors for Essentia – St Joseph’s Hospital in Brainerd. He has been president of the Board of Directors at Camp Confidence and the Jaycees and is currently involved in the community through the Kiwanis Club of Baxter.  Dr. Dens was named the Brainerd Citizen of the Year in 2014.

MDA Board of Trustees

Dr. Teresa Fong

Minneapolis District

Phone: 763-786-4260

Fax: 763-786-2302

Dr. Rosalie Perpich

Saint Paul District

Phone: 651-351-0890

Fax: 651-351-1922

Dr. Bret Cooper

Northwestern District

Phone: 218-751-3674

Fax: 218-751-1992

Dr. Scott Wagnild

West Central District

Phone: 218-736-4000

Dr. James Rostvold

Northeastern District

Phone: 218-326-2560

Dr. Tim Holland

Southeastern District

Phone: 507-451-7250

Fax: 507-451-1011

Dr. Grant Sorensen

Southern District

Phone: 507-376-9797

Mr. Robert Springer

Student District

Dr. Kenneth McDougall

ADA Trustee for the 10th District

Phone: 701-251-2240

Angela Amann

Ms. Angela Amann

Legal Counsel

Phone: 651-451-1831

Fax: 651-450-7384